Delegates elected their peers to the House of Representatives on Tuesday, June 1, as part of the 80th annual session of the leadership and civic engagement Arkansas Boys State program, which is sponsored by the Arkansas American Legion. The mock government structure that delegates build at Arkansas Boys State includes eight counties, each of which elected eight State Representatives.

State representatives sent the morning of Friday, June 4, in legislative committee meetings with legislators from the Arkansas House of Representatives to discuss legislative issues and the legislative process. The following delegates were elected to the House of Representatives.

State Representatives:
Mason Baltz, Pocahontas
Ethan Brevik, Pulaski Academy
Tyler Childers, DeWitt
Drew Cochran, Conway Christian Highschool
Eli Contorno, Benton
Alex Cooper, Southside Charter (Independence)
Jace Curtis, Bergman
Austin Denton, Cabot
Adam Donaldson, Subiaco Academy
Paul Douglass, Little Rock Christian Academy
Atticus Goswick, Bentonville West
Brock Gottsponer, Sacred Heart Catholic School
Luke Graham, Baptist Preparatory School
Connor Hart, Flippin
Garner Henderson, Trumann
Kevin Henson, Lakeside School District (Garland)
Rocco Hicks, Poyen
Josiah Hillman, North Little Rock
Gunner Hodges, Harrison High School Conversion Charter
Malik Holland, Lakeside School District (Chicot)
Ethan Holzhauer, DeWitt
Thomas Hout, Central High School – Little Rock
Hayden Hurst, Van Buren
Eli Jackson, Joe T. Robinson High School
Jarius Jackson, Hall High School
Korwin Johnson, Arkadelphia
Bryan Jones, Northwest Arkansas Classical Academy High
Connor Keeler, Sylvan Hills High School
Collin Keen, Fayetteville Christian School
Landon Kuhn, Arkadelphia
Caden Lemley, Russellville
Trevor Little, Bergman
Jabe Lovett, Fort Smith Southside
Chadwick Lucas, West Memphis Christian
Sutton Manatt, Lake Hamilton
RJ Martin, Warren
Jackson McAfee, Lakeside School District (Garland)
Preston McAllister, Har-ber High School (Springdale)
Blake McLelland, Hot Springs
Mason Mezel, Little Rock Christian Academy
Mason Minden, Little Rock Christian Academy
Sam Morales, Benton
Hunter Newsom, Morrilton Sr. High School
Colton Osburn, Greenland
Xander Parker, Central High School – Little Rock
Faizan Parray, Central High School – Little Rock
Eli Roberts, Valley Springs
Landon Runion-Driskel, Central High School – Little Rock
Nick Schaefer, Joe T. Robinson High School
Holden Slayton, Cabot
Tom B. Smith, Valley View
William Stites, Fort Smith Northside
Tyler Teague, Lavaca
Rashad Thrower, North Little Rock Center Of Excellence
Josh Thrower, Arkansas High School (Texarkana)
Falco Van O’versteeg, Hot Springs
Elvis Vargas, Lakeside School District (Chicot)
Major Waters, Little Rock Christian Academy
Caleb Weed, Lakeside School District (Garland)
Will Wilson, Hall High School
Dawson Wolff, Shiloh Christian School
Dean Zakrzewski, North Little Rock
Noah Zetts, Jessieville

Arkansas Boys State is an immersive program in civics education designed for high school juniors. Since 1940, the week-long camp has transformed the next generation of leaders throughout our state and beyond. These young men have gone on to become state, national, and international leaders, including President Bill Clinton, former Arkansas Governor Mike Huckabee, former White House Chief of Staff Mack McLarty, Senator Tom Cotton, Senator John Boozman, and Arkansas Chief Justice John Dan Kemp — just to name a few.

During their week at Arkansas Boys State, delegates are assigned a political party, city, and county. Throughout the week, delegates, from the ground up, administer this mock government as if it were real: they run for office, draft and pass legislation, solve municipal challenges, and engage constituents. By the week’s end, the delegates have experienced civic responsibility and engagement firsthand while making life-long memories and friends — all with our guiding principle that “Democracy Depends on Me.”

Pin It on Pinterest